Connect with us

Colorado Avalanche

Cale Makar wins “midseason” Calder, Joe Sakic wins GM award



As one of the 117 voters of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, along with my role as the chairman of the Colorado chapter, it is my sworn duty to present to you the results of the PHWA Midseason Awards. There are, as you will see, some results that will warm the hearts of Avs fans.

Cale Makar is your Midseason Calder Trophy winner, and Joe Sakic is your Midseason Jim Gregory Award winner, given to the league’s best general manager.

Nathan MacKinnon? He finished second in the Hart Trophy voting, to Edmonton’s Connor McDavid. No, I didn’t vote for McDavid. Unlike at the end of the season, the ballots of the voters won’t be made public, nor are the total number of “points” being revealed for each player in the voting.

But my sources tell me: McDavid received 58 first-place votes and MacKinnon got 45.

MacKinnon did win the Lady Byng Trophy, which…I’m a bit surprised by. Knowing MacK, not sure how much he would really want that award lol.

Makar and Sakic both richly deserve their honors, but there is still a few months to go before the voting for the REAL trophies take place. But as the release from the PHWA below indicates, the midseason vote often mirrors the final one.

Full results for the PHWA’s 2019-20 MIDSEASON NHL AWARDS:
Hart Trophy – to the player adjudged to be most valuable to his team.
1. Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers
2. Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche
3. David Pastrnak, Boston Bruins

Norris Trophy – to the defenseman who demonstrates the greatest all-round ability in the position.
1. John Carlson, Washington Capitals
2. Roman Josi, Nashville Predators
3. Dougie Hamilton, Carolina Hurricanes

Selke Trophy – to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.

1. Sean Couturier, Philadelphia Flyers
2. Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
3. Ryan O’Reilly, St. Louis Blues

Calder Trophy – to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition.
1. Cale Makar, Colorado Avalanche
2. Quinn Hughes, Vancouver Canucks
3. Victor Olofsson, Buffalo Sabres

Lady Byng Trophy – to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and
gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.
1. Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche
2. Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs
3. Ryan O’Reilly, St. Louis Blues

Vezina Trophy – to the goaltender adjudged to be the best at his position.
1. Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets
2. Ben Bishop, Dallas Stars
3. Darcy Kuemper, Arizona Coyotes

Jack Adams Award – to the coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success.
1. Mike Sullivan, Pittsburgh Penguins
2. John Tortorella, Columbus Blue Jackets
3. Craig Berube, St. Louis Blues

Jim Gregory GM of the Year Award – to the General Manager adjusted to have contributed most
to his team’s success.
1. Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche
2. John Chayka, Arizona Coyotes
3. Doug Armstrong, St. Louis Blues

Rod Langway Award – to the defenseman who best excels in the defensive aspect of the game.
1. Jaccob Slavin, Carolina Hurricanes
2. Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning
3. Roman Josi, Nashville Predators

Comeback Player of the Year Award – to the player who returned to a previous high level of
performance that was interrupted by subpar play, long-term injury or major illness.
1. William Nylander, Toronto Maple Leafs
2. Anthony Duclair, Ottawa Senators
3. Max Pacioretty, Vegas Golden Knights

Colorado's premier coverage of the Avalanche from professional hockey people. Evan Rawal, Editor-in-Chief. Part of the National Hockey Now family.

This site is in no way associated with the Colorado Avalanche or the NHL. Copyright © 2023 National Hockey Now.