Connect with us

Colorado Avalanche

Cale Makar is the Calder Trophy winner



Cale Makar

Cale Makar on Monday night became the fourth player in Avalanche team history to win the Calder Trophy as NHL rookie of the year, joining Chris Drury, Gabe Landeskog and Nathan MacKinnon.

“I’m extremely humbled and honored to win this trophy,” Makar said on NBCSN, on a Zoom call with the Great One himself, Wayne Gretzky.

Makar beat out Vancouver’s Quinn Hughes and Chicago’s Dominik Kubalik for the award, which has been handed out every season since 1936.

Makar had 50 points in 57 games for the Avalanche, and had 15 points in 15 playoff games.

Makar last year won the college player of the year award, the Hobey Baker, before joining the Avs in the playoffs against his hometown Calgary Flames. Makar is the first defenseman to win the Calder for the Avs.

$20 Dollar Bonus Voucher!

Makar topped all rookies with 0.88 points per game (12-38—50 in 57 GP). Only three other rookie blueliners in NHL history have averaged as many points per game in a single season (minimum: 50 GP): Brian Leetch (1.04 in 1988-89 w/ NYR), Larry Murphy (0.95 in 1980-81 w/ LAK) and Al MacInnis (0.88 in 1983-84 w/ CGY). Makar also finished among the 2019-20 rookie leaders in game-winning goals (t-1st; 4), assists (2nd; 38), points (2nd; 50), power-play assists (2nd; 15), power-play points (2nd; 19), average time on ice (3rd; 21:01), goals (6th; 12), power-play goals (t-6th; 4), plus/minus (7th; +12), shots on goal (8th; 121) and shooting percentage (8th; 9.9%).

Here is the final vote total:

More later…

Subscribe to CHN+ today!

Adrian Dater - Kiss and Larry Bird fan. Writer with @Gambling and @Bookies, Avs Insider with 104.3 The Fan. Denver Post, SI, Bleacher Report alum, author of seven books.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

AD – do you have the numbers for the HART too? how close was MacK?


Effin right!


Well deserved.

Joseph Gauthier

I’m happy to see the voters agreed, that it was a good race between Makar and Hughes but not a tight race. Makar was the obvious choice to win but Hughes should have and was, the obvious 2nd place Rookie! Congrats to both…

P.S. Poor Kubalik! Has 30 goals in his Rookie shortened year and wasn’t even within sniffing range, of winning the Calder…

Colorado's premier coverage of the Avalanche from professional hockey people. Adrian Dater, Editor-in-Chief. Part of the National Hockey Now family.

This site is in no way associated with the Colorado Avalanche or the NHL. Copyright © 2019 National Hockey Now and Adrian Dater.