Connect with us

avalanche news

Cale Makar Named Finalist For Norris Trophy



Avalanche NHL Awards makar

For the fourth straight season, Cale Makar will be a finalist for the Norris Trophy.

Not a bad way to start your career.

On Wednesday, Makar was named as one of the three finalists for the award, which is given annually to the top defenseman in the NHL. It’s voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, with the winner being announced in Las Vegas on June 27. I did get a vote this year, but I don’t believe I’m allowed to reveal my choices just yet, so I’ll keep that a secret for now.

If Makar does win, it will be the second Norris Trophy added to his collection. He won in 2021-22, and just so happened to win the Conn Smythe and Stanley Cup that same year. I think he’d take a repeat of that awards season again.

Quinn Hughes and Roman Josi are the other two finalists for the award. Hughes is considered to be the favorite for the award, and would be the first Vancouver Canucks defenseman to win the Norris.

Here’s the press release from the NHL on Makar’s season. CHN is planning on being at the awards in June, so we’ll be there live to see if he wins again.

Makar finished second in points (90), goals (21) and assists (69) among defensemen and was first in points per game (1.17) playing 77 games for the Colorado Avalanche. He was also first in power-play points (39) at the position, tied for first with four short-handed points and third in shots on goal (231). Makar led the Avalanche and was ninth in the NHL averaging 24:46 of ice time per game and was first for Colorado in blocked shots (148) and takeaways (70).

Colorado's premier coverage of the Avalanche from professional hockey people. Evan Rawal, Editor-in-Chief. Part of the National Hockey Now family.

This site is in no way associated with the Colorado Avalanche or the NHL. Copyright © 2023 National Hockey Now.