Connect with us

Colorado Avalanche

Cale Makar a Norris Trophy Nominee For The Third Consecutive Season




Cale Makar is, once again, a nominee for the Norris Trophy.

Makar, who was voted the best defenseman in the NHL by his peers earlier this season, has been nominated for the award for the third consecutive season. Even though he missed 22 games, he finished with 66 points, which was ninth among all NHL defensemen. His scoring rate of 1.10 points-per-game was second to only Erik Karlsson among all defensemen in the league.

Makar, of course, won the award last season.

The 24 year old defenseman was forced to evolve his game all year long, as he averaged more time-on-ice per game than any other defenseman in the league.

The other two nominees for the award are Adam Fox (New York Rangers) and Karlsson (San Jose Sharks).

Here’s the write up from the NHL media site on Makar, including a very interesting tidbit at the end:

“Makar, the reigning Norris Trophy winner, ranked second among defensemen with 1.10 points per game, totaling 17-49—66 in 60 appearances. He became the first player in Avalanche history to pace the League in average time on ice (26:23), also finishing among the top blueliners in game-winning goals (t-2nd; 6), overtime goals (t-2nd; 2), goals (6th; 17), power-play points (6th; 30), power-play goals (t-6th; 5), points (9th; 66), assists (11th; 49) and takeaways (t-15th; 50). Makar became the quickest defenseman in NHL history to reach the 200-point milestone, doing so in his 195th contest (Nov. 21 at DAL), and ended the season with 65-181—246 overall – the most points by any blueliner through his first 238 career games. The 24-year-old Makar, who like Fox is seeking his second Norris Trophy in his fourth NHL season, is a finalist for the third straight year after placing second in voting in 2020-21. Only three other players in League history have been a Norris Trophy finalist at least three times in their first four campaigns: Bobby Orr (4x), Brad Park (3x) and Denis Potvin (3x).”

The winner of the award will be announced on June 26.

Colorado's premier coverage of the Avalanche from professional hockey people. Evan Rawal, Editor-in-Chief. Part of the National Hockey Now family.

This site is in no way associated with the Colorado Avalanche or the NHL. Copyright © 2023 National Hockey Now.