Connect with us

Morning Skate Diary

Game 5 preview: Logan O’Connor expected to return to Avs lineup



Colorado Avalanche, Vegas Golden Knights

Hello from high above rinkside here at Ball Arena, where the Avs will try to shake off the embalming fluid on them and take some control back in this second-round NHL playoff series with Vegas. There were some intriguing developments here at the skate, and the gist of what seems to be going on for the lineup tonight is: Alex Newhook and Logan O’Connor in, and Carl Soderberg and Kiefer Sherwood out.

Yes, it appears as of LOC will return to the lineup in Game 5, after missing some significant time with a lower-body injury. While Jared Bednar would not say for sure Logan O’Connor is playing, he said he’s ready to play and available – “an option for us” – and LOC left the ice along with the other regulars here.

Guys such as Carl, Bo Byram, Jacob MacDonald and Sampo Ranta all stayed on late – suggesting they’ll be healthy scratches.

J.T. Compher did not take part in the morning skate, but Bednar said he his healthy and available. Not sure why J.T. didn’t skate.

NOTEBOOK: After appealing twice, once to Gary Bettman and once with neutral discipline arbitrator Shyam Das, Nazem Kadri received no reduction in his eight-game suspension. Das upheld the original suspension today. The earliest Kadri can play is either a Game 7 against Vegas – or a Game 1 against Montreal. … Tyson Jost on Zoom: “Guys are excited. We know what’s at take tonight. We knew it was going to be a battle, but we’re excited for the challenge.” … Conor Timmins on Zoom: “As defensemen, we need to join the rush more.” … Erik Johnson took part in the skate, in a regular jersey. But he won’t play tonight, Bednar said. … Avs are -140 favorites to win outright tonight at SuperBook Colorado.

Colorado's premier coverage of the Avalanche from professional hockey people. Evan Rawal, Editor-in-Chief. Part of the National Hockey Now family.

This site is in no way associated with the Colorado Avalanche or the NHL. Copyright © 2023 National Hockey Now.